Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

Title: Wuthering Heights

Author: Emily Bronte

Publication Date: 1847

Review Score: 2/10

SPOILER ALERT: If you love this book you might not want to read this review!

Mr Lockwood, the new tenant of Thrushcross Grange, is forced to take shelter one night at Wuthering heights, the home of his landlord. It is here, in this run down house, on the bleak Yorkshire Moors, that Lockwood learns the story of this bitter mans history and the tempestuous events that have taken place at Wuthering Heights.

On the journey through this book the reader learns of the passionate relationship between Healthcliff and Catherine, her apparent betrayal of him and the vengeance he then visits upon all he comes into contact with.

Ok that’s enough of that! You might as well ignore that synopsis as it may make the book sound interesting and good and I definitely don’t want to give off that impression! Of all the books I have read during my life I don’t think I have found one quite so terrible as Wuthering Heights!

I know a lot of you will think I’m mad and even people who haven’t read the book will probably think I’m wrong, given the fame of this novel and Emily Bronte, but trust me I have my reasons for making these claims.

Wuthering Heights is acclaimed as a work of brilliance as it is supposedly the ultimate tale of love and betrayal but it just isn’t! Women all over the world gush about Heathcliff but when it boils down to it he is just an evil, violent little man, who’s physical and mental abuse of women, children and even animals is god awful!

The back and forth between Heathcliff and Catherine is stale and boring, there isn’t a single likable character in the book and everything just feels stilted, cold and un-engaging.

Honestly I struggled to find a single enjoyable thing about this book! When you can’t sympathise with, or relate to, a single character it makes a book incredibly hard going and that is exactly how I found it, and I don’t understand why so many people can sympathise with these characters, they just don’t deserve it!

Anyway, I could continue but will stop there as I know that the majority of people reading this will disagree with me. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion so I will just if you love Wuthering Heights good for you but it just isn’t for me I’m afraid!

Leave a comment

Filed under 1001 Books, Romance

Leave a Reply

